We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page you are giving your consent for us to set cookies.
See Privacy Policy

Did you know...

The 'High contrast view' (top of screen) also gives larger fonts plus high contrast and better scalability
Read more about the accessibility of this website

Believe In Yourself

© CBM India
Thirumoorthi receiving home based therapy

“I live a happy and a confident life. I have a bright future ahead. My philosophy is that, ‘nothing is impossible and don’t get weighed down by what people think and say’. Believe in yourself and have the courage to at least try, if not always succeed. Hi, my name is Thirumoorthi.”

I was born in the year 2005 at Kunrampatti, Palamputhur, Kookal Hamlet, Kodaikanal, Tamil Nadu, which is 50 Kilometres from Kodai. I live about 2 km down the hill from the main village, Palamputhur and there are no houses close by. My father’s name is Ravi Chandranand and he is a farmer. My mother’s name is Maheshwari and she works as an agricultural labourer. I have a younger sister who is 4 years old. We all live in one single room. My father is the primary caregiver who looks after all my needs.
 
The terrain is hilly and the roads are awful. Only four-wheel drive jeeps move on those narrow roads, that too to transport vegetables. I was diagnosed with Cerebral Palsy, which caused developmental delay. Although I have physical stiffness, I can speak and have good memory power. Therefore, I have the capability to study.
 
My pony used to bring me up to the village for my medical and rehabilitation intervention. The school is in the Kookal village, which is not accessible for me.
A boy with cerebral palsy and his father was oriented ©CBM India
Thirumoorthi parents was oriented by programme staff on assistive devices
I was identified by CBM field staff during their survey. As the centre is located in a town which is difficult to reach, my parents requested them to admit me in their residential program. They accepted our request and I was immediately accommodated in their premises. Now I am receiving therapy and training on ‘Activities of Daily Living’ (ADL) regularly. Through the special education programme, I am now exposed to education, schooling and interaction with many other children. The centre had supported me with assistive devices and some adapted devices which will be helping me to improve my condition.

They have also helped me in getting my disability ID card which helps me to receive concessions in public transport. Once I am independent to a certain level, I will be put into the inclusive schooling set up. My future ambition is to become a Police officer and I will strive to achieve the same.
Interview and Photograph - Anita Alexander, CBM India Programme Officer


Donate

Donate
Go to Website

CBM worldwide

back to CBM international

Or try this:

Due to your location and language settings you might be interested in the following CBM sites:

donateBottom
© CBM International

Meta navigation, Legal

Access key details

Contact